Proposal for enhancements to ENS text records

Hi guys,

I got a response to a text record related question on Discord that got me thinking. What enhancements would I like to see around the design and use of ENS text records? I have captured my thinking in the sections below. I posted my views on Discord but was re-directed to this forum site, which I agree is better suited for this discussion.

• From a quick scan, I cannot see on the forum that these proposals have been discussed already. If you know better, please let me know. I am happy to merge with the respective proposals where appropriate.
  • The sections below are my way of capturing what I have learned so far about ENS text records and what I believe to be worthy enhancements. I hope that with your feedback we can initiate a pull request to enhance ENS text record capabilities.
  • One last point before we proceed. I have been playing around with smart contracts, but I am not a developer. I appreciate that some aspects below may have knock-on effects that need to be fully considered. I have therefore left open comment sections for further inputs. With your feedback the pull request will be able to address such inputs.

Enough preamble mumble. Let’s get to it.

Bit of background

In October 2019, the ENS team introduced Text Records to ENS names This feature was added initially as a means for storing arbitrary data. At launch there were eight predefined keys to which values could be assigned, as shown below:

• Addreses
  • Content
  • Text Records
    • email
    • url
    • description
    • notice
    • keywords
    • com.twitter
    • com.github